Fit Hungry Mama

One mama's journey of finding balance with food, fitness, family, and fun

Setbacks = Opportunities

on July 9, 2012

Man, so much has happened since my last post. Both of my sons got sick, then I got sick. In fact, I’m still recovering from my sinus infection. I had to take time off from my exercise program since this simple little illness zapped all my energy and strength. However, I don’t consider this a setback. Instead, it has given me the opportunity to focus on something else I have wanted to work on for years.

Ever since our neighborhood-wide yard sale which took place on the same weekend as our  106F heat wave, I focused  on removing all the clutter in our house. Our clutter was mostly in our unfinished basement. The mess was pure chaos with boxes of stuff that haven’t been opened in years. Quite a few of them were boxes of things I haven’t seen since my mom passed away almost 20 years ago. In the past, I made several attempts to open these boxes, but was afraid of what was inside. I have never gotten over the loss of my mother, so facing those boxes meant that I had to relive some pretty sad memories.

But, it needed to be done if I wanted to turn that concrete slab into a beautiful living space. As I was going through the many boxes, it dawned on me that I was doing all these items a disservice by letting them waste away in bags and boxes. It was then when I realized that its better to let others enjoy these items instead of letting them just take up valuable space going unappreciated.  After that moment, the anxiety lessened and sorting through my beloved things became much easier. Now that the basement is all sorted and organized, I will be continuing this process in the other areas of my home until all the clutter is gone.  I’ve donated most of it already, which makes me feel really good inside. It warms my heart knowing that these items will be used and loved again by people who need them more than me.

Anyway, my point is that if you ever have an obstacle disrupt your journey, don’t let it stop you. Instead, find a way to learn from it, to work your way around it, or use it as a new starting point for a brand new journey.  I’m glad I did!!

Leave a Reply

