Fit Hungry Mama

One mama's journey of finding balance with food, fitness, family, and fun

Parmesan and Sage Crusted Pork Chops with Mashed Sweet Potatoes Brulee

on July 13, 2012

I’ve craved all sorts of naughty foods lately thanks to an annoying situation I had dealt with all week. Today, I was craving fried pork chops for dinner. So the search was on. My eyes landed on Cooking Light’s Parmesan and Sage Crusted Pork Chops. Oh my, the name alone had my mouth watering! I had to modify the recipe because all I had on hand were dried sage, canned bread crumbs and whole wheat bread, and Dijon mustard (I’m not a big fan of yellow mustard).  I refuse to buy white bread and didn’t think  whole wheat bread would work, so I just used plain pre-made breadcrumbs from a can.  I also used olive oil in place of the canola oil, because I love sneaking in MUFAs for additional health benefits. The end results were amazing. The chops had beautiful golden brown crispy crusts and were very moist on the inside. So good!!

This is what I did:

Parmesan and Sage Crusted Pork Chops (adapted from Cooking Light)

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup plain  bread crumbs
  • 1/4 cup (1 ounce) grated Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese
  • 1 tablespoon or so of dried sage
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 tablespoon Dijon mustard
  • 2 large egg whites
  • 4 (4-ounce) boneless thin-cut pork loin chops, trimmed
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons olive oil

Directions:

1. Combine breadcrumbs, cheese, sage, salt, and pepper in a shallow dish. Place flour in another shallow dish. Combine mustard and egg whites in another shallow dish, stirring with a whisk.

2. Working with one pork chop at a time, dredge pork in flour, shaking off excess. Dip pork into egg white mixture, allowing excess to drip off. Coat pork completely with breadcrumb mixture. Set aside. Repeat procedure with remaining pork, flour, egg white mixture, and breadcrumb mixture.

3. Heat a large nonstick skillet over medium heat. Add oil to pan, swirling to coat. Add pork; cook 3 minutes on each side or until browned and done.

Earlier in the week, I  bought some sweet potatoes and was originally going to grill them. However, it has rained every evening this week so I had to come up with another plan. I love mashed sweet potatoes but wanted to make them extra special tonight. I ran across the words Mashed Sweet Potatoes Brulee and looked at the directions because I feared I would need one of those fancy brulee torches. Nope, all I needed was a broiler!  Basically, all you do is make mashed sweet potatoes as usual, put it in an oven safe dish, sprinkle some brown sugar on it, and pop it under the broiler for a few minutes. So easy!

To make it less like a Thanksgiving dish, I left out the nutmeg. Also, I used real unsalted butter since I no longer buy light butters/margarine. I also like my mashed potatoes thick so I add a little milk at a time until it is at the right consistency. Today, I only needed 1/2 cup of 1% milk. It turned out really well. Everyone really loved the crunchy bits of brown sugar on top. My 16 month old son was practically screaming for more because he couldn’t get enough of it!

Here is how I made it:

Mashed Sweet Potatoes Brulee  (adapted from SkinnyTaste.com)

Ingredients:

  • 5 1/2 lbs sweet potatoes, peeled and boiled until soft (6 cups cooked)
  • 1/2- 3/4 cup 1% milk
  • 3 tbsp  unsalted butter, softened
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup unpacked light brown sugar

Directions:

When the potatoes are fork-tender,  combine with milk, butter, salt, and cinnamon and mash until smooth.  

Spoon into a 9 x 9 inch baking dish.

Preheat the broiler. Sprinkle 1/2 cup brown sugar evenly over the top. Broil 2 minutes or until sugar melts, careful not to burn. Let it stand until the melted sugar hardens, about 5 minutes.

The parm and sage chops and sweet potato mash really go well together. I can easily see myself eating this meals on cool autumn nights!

2 responses to “Parmesan and Sage Crusted Pork Chops with Mashed Sweet Potatoes Brulee

  1. Sounds delicious … I have tons of sage growing in my garden so I’m happy to find another recipe to use some! 🙂

  2. ufgatorgrad says:

    Yummy! I might have to try this recipe!

Leave a Reply

