Fit Hungry Mama

One mama's journey of finding balance with food, fitness, family, and fun

Crispy Grilled Chicken, Apple Cider Broccoli Slaw, and Spicy Lime Corn on the Cob

on July 25, 2012

I am so excited I finally have time to tell you about last night’s meal. It was so dang delicious. I think it will probably one of my favorite home-cooked summer dinners!

I’ve made the two sides before and knew they tasted good, so I was really curious about making “fried” chicken on the grill.

I’ll start with the Crispy Grilled Chicken Thighs. I followed this recipe pretty closely. I used regular olive oil mayo and panko breadcrumbs (since I didn’t have the regular kind). I also used 12 thighs instead of the ten since I  bought two six packs of thighs. I’m sure boneless skinless chicken breasts pounded thin would work as well. I prepared the marinade the night before and put it into a ziplock bag along with the thighs. I squeezed all the air out and massaged the marinade into the meat before letting it marinate for about 20 hours.

I only use the panko for six of the thighs and left the other 6 bare. They were so thin and spread out so they really soaked up the breading! And they didn’t take long to cook at all. They looked gorgeous, just like baked fried chicken with grill marks. And the taste was absolutely amazing. I couldn’t believe it was grilled breaded chicken. They are quite addicting, so be sure to make enough for everyone! As for the bare ones, I sampled a small piece and decided that these particular pieces would make a great topping for salad or a spicy chicken sandwich.

Crispy Grilled Chicken Thighs (from PreventionRD.com)

Ingredients:

  • 1/3 cup low fat olive mayonnaise
  • 1 Tbsp chili powder
  • 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper
  • Kosher salt
  • 10 boneless skinless chicken thighs, trimmed (about 2 1/2 lb)
  • 1 1/2 cups breadcrumbs
  • Freshly ground black pepper

Directions:

Combine the mayonnaise, chili powder, cayenne and 1/2 teaspoon salt in a large bowl. Add the chicken and toss to coat. Cover and refrigerate at least 2 hours or overnight.

Preheat a grill to medium low. Place the breadcrumbs and black pepper in a shallow dish, then add the chicken, turning to thoroughly coat. Grill the chicken, turning once, until golden brown and cooked through, about 8 to 9 minutes per side.

Yield: 10 servings (1 thigh each)

 

I ran across the recipe for spicy lime buttered corn on the cob many years ago and can not remember where I found it.  This is what I do when I make it for our family of 4.

Spicy Lime Buttered Corn on the Cob

Ingredients:

  • half stick (4tbsp) of unsalted butter, softened
  • the juice of 1/2 lime
  • 1/8 tsp or so of red pepper
  • 4 fresh ears of corn (grilled or boiled, your preference)

Directions: Mix first 3 ingredients thoroughly and refrigerate in a serving dish until ready to serve corn on the cob.

Then I made the broccoli slaw by modifying the recipe found on the backside of the bag of  Eat Smart’s Broccoli Slaw. I replaced the vinegar with apple cider vinegar and the 2tsp  of sugar with a packet of Truvia. I also used olive oil mayo instead of traditional mayo. Next time, I may experiment with using nonfat plain Greek yogurt.

Apple Cider Broccoli  Slaw (adapted from Eat Smart Broccoli Slaw recipe)

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup mayonnaise
  • 1 1/4 tsp apple cider vinegar
  • 2tsp sugar or 1 packet of no-calorie sweetener
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 12 oz Broccoli Slaw

Directions: Mix first 4 ingredients thoroughly in large bowl.  Add slaw and gently toss until evenly coated. Cover and refrigerate until ready to serve.

Leave a Reply

