Fit Hungry Mama

One mama's journey of finding balance with food, fitness, family, and fun

Oatmeal Waffles

on July 25, 2012

I love cooking special breakfasts on the weekends. Back in the day, I used to just rely on Bisquick for my waffle needs. I decided to give up the Bisquick and try making them from scratch. I’ve tried several recipes and none of them were tasty enough to try again. That is until I ran across this oatmeal waffle recipe!

The very first time I made them, I followed the directions exactly. They were superb! The next time I made them, I replaced half of the all-purpose flour with whole wheat flour. They were a little more dense (which I prefer!), but just as flavorful as the original. I like that the recipe has butter in it because the butter combined with the brown sugar and cinnamon makes the house smell so good! Plus, I find that there is no need to put extra butter on the waffle, which saves me some calories.  And let us not forget about the syrup. The old me would drown my waffles and pancakes in pancake syrup. Now, I prefer to use real maple syrup over the artificially flavored stuff. Maple syrup has more calories per serving (1/4 cup = 200 calories), so you really have to watch how much you pour. I’ve found that 1/8 cup  (2 tbsp) is plenty for two squares of these particular waffles. You don’t want to drown these in any topping you decide to use. Otherwise, you will miss out in the rich comforting flavors!

Oatmeal Waffles (adapted from allrecipes.com)

  • 3/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 cup quick-cooking rolled oats
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2 eggs, slightly beaten
  • 1 1/2 cups milk
  • 6 tablespoons butter, melted
  • 2 tablespoons brown sugar

Directions

  1. In large mixing bowl, stir together flour, oats, baking powder, cinnamon and salt; set aside.
  2. In small mixing bowl, stir together eggs, milk, butter and brown sugar.
  3. Add to flour mixture; stir until blended.
  4. Pour batter on to grids of preheated, lightly greased waffle iron.
  5.  When the waffle is finished, top with desired toppings ( fresh fruit and yogurt, or my favorite pure maple syrup!)
One response to “Oatmeal Waffles

  1. Fit Foodie says:

    I love these waffles and I’ve also made them with whole wheat flour and they came out great! I just picked up some whole wheat pastry flour so I’ll have to try them with that.

Leave a Reply

