Fit Hungry Mama

One mama's journey of finding balance with food, fitness, family, and fun

Finding Balance

on August 21, 2012
I’ve been in a funk for the past few days. It all started with a neck and back injury/strain that I got last Thursday. Thankfully, it has pretty much disappeared, but the two days off of Insanity were probably the two most stressful days I’ve had in a long time.
I had a revelation this morning that I really need to stop being so hard on myself when it comes to these pre-determined workout schedules.  They are realistic schedules, with most workout sessions being only an hour long.  Even the most busiest of people can squeeze in an hour of exercise per day.  However, there are times when life gets in the way. Life getting in the way for me seems to usually be migraines, my damn neck injury, and kid-related stuff.  Most of the time, I’m able to make up the workouts I’ve missed.  But, I’ve noticed that once I’ve gotten behind, my stress levels go way up.  Then, I get depressed and feel like a total failure because I can’t stick to a schedule. Then, the programs start feeling like a chore which leaves me feeling burned out.  This happened early on with BBL and I ended up despising the 60 day program by the time I finished.  Long story short, exercise shouldn’t feel like a chore or stress me out to the point of crying and depression.  That is  just plain crazy!!
Don’t get me wrong, I  love my dvd workouts, especially the P90X series and Insanity!  They have done great things for me.  However, I am going to take a break from following their schedules word-for-word. For now, I’m going to write up my own schedule on a week-by-week basis and do what I want to do for exercise. I need those stress levels to go down so I can regain the balance I so desperately need.
I don’t have all the details figured out yet,  but I do know that I want to go to the gym more often and do more outdoor activities since the weather is finally getting cooler.  I want to go running, continue my early AM walks, and go hiking on the weekends. I plan on doing Insanity a few times during the week, but will take a break from it on the weekends. Im going to let it be supplemental exercise to all the other exercise I want to do this fall. So yea, I’m not  going to complete Insanity in 60 days like most people aim to do. And I’m ok with this!
Thankfully, I’m pretty happy with how I feel and look so this new approach to exercise wont be detrimental to my health. In fact, I think it will improve it since I will no longer feel stressed out if I don’t get a specific exercise workout done.
Ok, I feel better writing this all down. Moving on now! :-)
“Just as your car runs more smoothly and requires less energy to go faster and farther when the wheels are in perfect alignment, you perform better when your thoughts, feelings, emotions, goals, and values are in balance. ” – Brian Tracy
2 responses to “Finding Balance

  1. Rachel H says:

    Stress can only hinder what you are trying to accomplish. I think you’re idea is exactly what you need.
    The two of us wouldn’t need to be all insane with our insanity if we were still kick’n curvesmarts butt! LOL
    I can’t wait to start running again. Goodbye Summer! Hello Fall!!!

Leave a Reply

