Fit Hungry Mama

One mama's journey of finding balance with food, fitness, family, and fun

Happy New Year!

on January 3, 2013

I’m finally back to blogging. This holiday season was rough in many ways and I’m relieved it’s all over.

Sorry I haven’t said much lately. As a stay-at-home mom of two young boys, I try to limit my computer time when they are around. My oldest son has been home from pre-K since mid-December, so we’ve been busy spending lots of quality time together.

As for me, I have done pretty good with exercise. Proper food intake has been an issue though. The winter months are always hard on me so I relied on comforting foods to help me through. Less sunshine, cold temperatures, financial stress of buying presents, and dealing with emotions associated with holidays (I lost my mom at 14 years of age and miss her A LOT this time of year).

Anyway, I’ve been back on track with proper food portions for a few days now and am feeling better. All I have to do now is get through my son’s 5th birthday without over-indulging on his birthday menu. I let him pick out all his meals for his special day.  He has requested Dunkin Donuts for breakfast (I will be getting one of their breakfast sandwich and  a plain coffee), a sandwich for lunch (I will probably make a salad with protein), and fried chicken for dinner (I’ll have a breast with skin removed). The hardest part will be the birthday cake. I ordered one from Publix (grocery store), who makes really good buttercream icing for their cakes!

I don’t have any specific goals set this year, but I do know that I want to improve my cardio endurance, improve my overall strength, tighten my core, continue decreasing my body fat percent, increase my water intake, and blog on a very regular basis.

To reach my fitness goals, I will continue my 3x/week strength training at the gym and resume my at-home workouts on Monday when my eldest son returns to school. Thankfully, there wont be as many holiday breaks this semester so I’ll be getting in a lot of exercise at home during the week for the rest of the school year.  These at-home workouts will take place during my youngest son’s naps.

As for food, I will be limiting grains and alcohol as well as increase my intake of raw/steamed/sautéed veggies and fresh fruits,  lean proteins, and MUFAs.  I will enter my foods into my Bodymedia armband program to make sure I’m getting enough protein for muscle growth, healthy carbs for energy, and healthy fats for a healthy heart.

Leave a Reply

